X Band LNB

• Hello all,

I'm tuning in a little late for the party. Hope the thread's still active. Have a few questions and concerns... I'm relatively new to this field. Perhaps femi, @strannik and s-band could help.

I have a 2.4m meshed dish, and I'd like to have an LNB to downconvert signals in the vicinity of 7.5-8.4 GHz frequency range, for some software defined radio experiments. Now, it is my understanding that this is not a trivial task, and I was wondering what components I would need specifically. Making them wouldn't be a problem..

If the budget is not an issue, would it be possible to have a rig that could cover the whole range in one go, or would I need a few extra components? For instance, my naive interpretation would suggest that I would only require a dish, an LNB with RF input of 7.5-8.4 GHz (which seemingly is not off the shelf) and then a dongle which would have the right IF input. If this isn't the case, I'm truly curious as to why this wouldn't work..

Would I need to have a Dish - waveguide - polarizer - lnb - dongle ?

Cheers,

X-bander

• Es gibt hier leider wie im Ka-Band verschiedene Frequenzbereiche wie 7,25-7,75 GHz 7,75-8,5 GHz.

Das größere Problem ist aber das Feed. Selbst wenn du eines findest, stehst du vor der Herausforderung es so zu Positionieren, dass der Brennpunkt stimmt.

Für das LNB solltest du einen vierstelligen Euro Betrag einplanen, Das Feed fällt auch nicht unter Low Budget.

Was den Dongle betrifft, musst du dich mit den SDR Leuten unterhalten.

Der Ausgang ist wie bei anderen LNBs im L-Band. Je nach sonstigen Equipment bekommt man sie auch mit N- oder SMA-Anschluss (50 Ohm).

Überlege dir die Kosten/Nutzen sowie den Aufwand, wäre ja nicht so billig, wenn man in der Mitte dann wo steckt.

Unfortunately, as in the Ka band, there are different frequency ranges such as 7.25-7.75 GHz and 7.75-8.5 GHz.